Home » Scholar-Artist Awards » Scholar-Artist Award Winners

About The Scholar-Artist Awards

Long Island Arts Alliance (LIAA) has developed the Scholar-Artist Awards program to present outstanding high school-age artists to the public in monthly profiles that will appear in Newsday and on Newsday.com. Scholar–Artists are chosen from five disciplines: Visual Arts, Music, Theater, Dance, and Media Arts. Selections are made from a pool of students nominated by Long Island’s public school districts, and from independent and parochial schools. From these nominees, the Scholar-Artist selection committees choose one monthly award winner from Nassau and one from Suffolk for ten consecutive months throughout the school year. In addition to the twenty students selected to receive Awards of Distinction, twenty additional students are selected to receive an Award of Merit at a year-end LIAA recognition event. The Scholar–Artist program is endorsed by the New York State School Music Association, the New York State Art Teachers Association, the Nassau and Suffolk chapters of the New York State Council of Administrators of Music Education, and the Nassau and Suffolk Art Supervisors Associations.


Congratulations to Our 2023-2024 Class of Scholar-Artists


Alessandra Hermes-Bevans
LIHSA/Wantagh HS

Mary Marinello
Huntington HS

Electra Scheiner
St. Dominic HS

Priscilla Pan
Syosset HS

Merit Awards:

Sophia DeMeo
Harborfields HS

Faith Fogelman
Commack HS

Averie Masia
Paul D. Schreiber HS


Alessandra Cesa
Centereach HS

Scout Chen
Syosset HS

Nadia Giovagnoni
Plainview-Old Bethpage/JFK HS

Amira Hussein
Bellport HS

Merit Awards:

Olivia Ikes
Oceanside HS

Jada Joseph
Huntington HS

Shania McCombs
H. Frank Carey HS

Jack Wang
Cold Spring Harbor Jr./Sr. HS


Gabriella D'Orlando
Kellenberg Memorial HS

Peter Hoss
Harborfields HS

Silas Lobenstein
Hauppauge HS

Mizuki Natsu
Great Neck HS N

Merit Awards:

Cody Chelune
Island Trees HS

Meredith Daly
Herricks HS

Loughlin Reid-Cleary
LIHSA/Lynbrook HS

Madeline Shingleton
Amityville Memorial HS

Nadine Torillo
Centereach HS


Toni Nemazi
Cold Spring Harbor Jr./Sr. HS / LIHSA

Saadiyah Proctor
North Babylon HS

Mia Grace Robley
Oceanside HS

Leah Romero
Mt. Sinai HS

Merit Awards:

Cooper Arbisi
Massapequa HS

Matthew Tyler Cruz
Sewanhaka HS

Dara Gordon
Commack HS

Laura Lederer
Island Trees HS


GoEun Choi
Plainview-Old Bethpage/JFK HS

Isabella Chu
New Hyde Park Memorial HS

Daniella Dell'Aquila
Manhasset HS

Becca Hochman
Half Hollow Hills HS E

Merit Awards:

Brian Jaco
Hicksville HS

Alden Kisner
Cold Spring Harbor Jr./Sr. HS

Natalia Monsale
Glen Cove HS

Ruby Zhang
Syosset HS