Scholar Artist Awards


In 2007, Long Island’s school arts administrators launched a collaboration with Long Island Arts Alliance, Newsday, and New York Community Bank Foundation, one designed to recognize students judged to be “the best of the best” on Long Island. The Scholar-Artist program mirrors the regions’ Scholar-Athlete programs. High school seniors are nominated by their school districts, and ten each from Nassau and Suffolk receive the program’s highest honor. The current class of Scholar-Artists is the program’s tenth.

Program Details: (Calls For Nominations For The Class Of 2022 Are Now Open)

  • Nominations May Only Be Submitted By An Authorized School Official; E.G. Principal, Superintendent Or Art Teacher. Applicants Must Be Graduating Seniors And Must Represent Excellence As Practicing Artists Within Their Chosen Discipline. Applicants Must Demonstrate Superior Academic Achievement With An Un-Weighted Grade Point Average Of 90 Or Above.
  • Every Long Island public, private, or parochial high school may nominate up to five Juniors, one in each of the following disciplines: Music, Visual Arts, Media Arts, Theater, or Dance.
  • Students who meet the program’s academic criteria are invited to submit performance recordings, or portfolios of visual or media arts. Panels of leading artists and arts educators review submissions, and 20 students are then named LIAA Scholar-Artists. Up to 20 additional students may receive Awards of Merit. Program applications can be found on this website’s right hand column.
  • Each must be a graduating senior during the following academic year.
  • Applications are to be submitted by a district administrator.
  • Students must represent the highest level of artist excellence and superior academic achievement with an unweighted grade point average of 90 or above.
  • School arts teachers may nominate students who meet these criteria. Students submit a performance recording or portfolio of their work, and an essay. Final selections are made by panels of artists and arts educators.
  • The program’s most prestigious awards. Twenty students are named LIAA Scholar-Artists each academic year.
  • Photos and profiles of Scholar-Artists, one each from Nassau and Suffolk counties, appear in monthly features in Newsday.
  • Individual portfolios of each Scholar-Artist appear on
  • Scholar-Artists receive a framed copy of their Newsday profile. These are presented at LIAA’s annual Gala at Tilles Center for the Performing Arts.
  • Superintendents are presented with a copy of their student’s framed Newsday profile at the Gala.
  • A secondary honor for up to twenty additional students.
  • Students are listed on the Newsday website.
  • Students receive an award at the Gala.

Dr. John J. Gallagher, Chairman, Longwood Schools; Kevin Bayen, Hewlett-Woodmere; Shirlene Blake, Board Member, New York State Dance Education AssociationCarol Brown, Eastern Suffolk BOCES, Ret.; Dr. Judith Chen, Scholar-Artist Liaison; Dr. Diana Cook, Middle Country Schools; Louisa Eiermann, Bayport-Blue Point Schools, Ret.; Ava Favara, Long Island High School for the Arts, Ret.; Lisa Fernandez, Westbury Public Schools; Cynthia Gerard, Longwood Central School District; Marc Greene, Ithaca College; James Incorvaia, Usdan Center for the Arts; Beth E. Levinthal, Hofstra University Museum, Ret.; Dale Lewis, Dir., Arts Reach Fund, Long Island Community Foundation; Dr. Kim Lowenborg-Coyne, North Babylon Schools, Donna Manning, Seaford Schools; Susan Radin, South Huntington Schools; Joanne Spencer, Nassau BOCES; Susan Weber, Uniondale Schools, Ret.

Dr. John Gallagher | Chairman, Longwood Schools

Anissa Arnold, Herricks Schools

Kevin Bayen, Hewlett-Woodmere, Ret.

Shirlene Blake, Board Member, New York State Dance Education Association

Carol Brown, Eastern Suffolk BOCES, Ret.

Dr. Judith Chen, Scholar-Artist Liason

Dr. Diana Cook, Middle Country Schools

Lisa Drance, North Babylon Schools

Louisa Eiermann, Bayport-Blue Point Schools, Ret.

Ava Favara, Long Island High School for the Arts, Ret.

Marc Greene, Ithaca College

James Incorvaia, Usdan Summer Camp for the Arts

Susan Radin, South Huntington Schools

Joanne Spencer, Nassau BOCES

Susan Weber, Uniondale Schools, Ret.

The LIAA Scholar-Artist Program is presented in cooperation with Newsday.

The LIAA Scholar-Artist program salutes its sponsors: New York Community Bank Foundation and Arts Reach Fund at Long Island Community Foundation. Additional thanks for LIU Post for offering scholarships to qualifying Scholar-Artist Honorees. Contact [email protected] for more information about scholarship opportunities.



Gianna Tantillo
Half Hollow Hills East Hs

Anna Mezzatesta
Bellport High School

Emma Romano
Oceanside High School

Cindy Wang
Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School

Ariane Lee
Syosset High School

Erika Lopez
Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School

Alena Moreira
Valley Stream North High School

Kelly Ryan
Hicksville High School

Isabella Craven
Half Hollow Hills Hs East/
Long Island High School For The Arts

Jessie Grill
Half Hollow Hills Hs East

Juliet Marinello
Huntington High School

Nicole Niyazov
Commack High School

Alexandra Donach
Syosset High School

Olivia Freiberger
Harborfields High School

Vincent Gerardi
Hauppauge High School

Shaakirah Nazim-Harris
Long Island High School For The Arts /
Amityville High School

Evan Cheng
Syosset High School

Kyle Pinzon
Herricks High School

Robert Montano
Centereach High School

Emily Jean Howell
Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School


Emma Fletcher
Long Island High School For The Arts/ Jericho High School

Abby Hurt
Port Washington/Schreiber High School

Julia Levin
Half Hollow Hills High School East

Cailyn Mahaffey
Oceanside High School

Caitlin Saliba
Bellport High School

Robin Xiao
Long Beach High School

Alexander Diaz
Amityville High School

Ty Ellenbogen
Harborfields High School

Allison Fama
Babylon High School

Gabriella Foster
Smithtown East High School

Zhi Lin
Valley Stream South High School

Logan Mazer
Newfield High School

Patrick Serrentino
Miller Place High School

Vincent Tavernese
H. Frank Carey High School

Kaitlyn Marcis
North Babylon High School

Christian Martinez
Centereach High School

Gabriella-Doreen Felice
North Babylon High School

Allison Greenwood
Herricks High School

Priscilla Russo
Centereach High School

Johanna Campos-Moreira
Huntington High School

logo1-5 LICF only
News Day